Countries‎ > ‎Georgia‎ > ‎21.08.2012‎ > ‎

Two blocks to participate in Georgian parliamentary elections

The Central Election Commission of Georgia registered to participate in parliamentary elections two electoral blocks. As reported Trend in the CEC of Georgia, the deadline for submission of election blocks expired on Sunday.

The first election block is "Bidzina Ivanishvili - Georgia Dream", which includes six parties: "Georgia's dream - Democratic Georgia", the Conservative Party, "Industry will Save Georgia", the Republican Party, "Our Georgia - Free Democrats" and "National Forum".

The second block is "Giorgi Targamadze - European Christian-Democrats", which included the Christian Democratic Movement and the Party "European Democrats".

At all, 41 political party expressed a desire to take part in the election. September 1 CEC completes the reception of the party lists of parties and electoral blocks. Elections to the Parliament of Georgia and Supreme Council of Adjara Autonomy will be held in October 1.

Elections to the supreme legislative body, consisting of 150 deputies, will be held under the proportional and majority systems in 73 constituencies, as the polls open and abroad.